Awards Program Description

The purpose of the Awards Program is to drive the creation and use of OER across the state of West Virginia. So the Commission and Council have announced four new statewide awards that honor the commitment of those who adopt OER to make their classes more innovative and higher education more affordable. The awards are presented annually – in April – at the Spring Open Learning WV Program meeting.

Open Learning WV Awards

Leadership Award
This award is given to an individual who has demonstrated strong leadership to support the adoption, creation and/or use of OER. This person’s contributions to advancing OER directly impact more than their own course, spanning an institution, region or the entire state of West Virginia.

Educator Award
This award is given to an individual who has excelled at adopting, creating and/or using OER in the classroom, thinking creatively and intentionally about pedagogy and the role course materials play in student learning.

OER Support Champion
This award is given to an individual who is not a member of the faculty but champions the creation and/or adoption of OER at their institution, region or the entire state of West Virginia.

Student Award
This award is given to a student who has given their time to champion the adoption of OER, demonstrating a strong commitment to college affordability and benefiting their fellow students and future cohorts.

Spring 2023 Awards Timeline

February 1 – Award Nominations Open
March 10 – Award Nominations Close
March 31 – Selection and notification of all honorees
April 14 – Awards ceremony

Winners will be honored at the Open Learning Convening on April 12-14, 2023 in Charleston, WV. Those selected will be contacted by March 31, 2023.


Please contact Jelayne Crosier at with questions.

Nomination Form

Recent Award Winners

Open Learning WV Awards Winners 2022:


Open Learning WV Leadership Award
Monica Garcia Brooks, Marshall University


Open Learning WV Educator Award
Catherine Wright, University of Charleston


Open Learning WV OER Support Champion
Larry Sheret, Marshall University

Open Learning WV Student Award
No one was nominated.